Where did you grow up? What were you doing before you joined CSBP?
I grew up on a mixed farming enterprise north of Merredin in the Nokaning/Nukarni district before heading off to boarding school and then to university. Before joining CSBP I had approximately 25 years in the bearing/industrial parts industry in Perth and Albany.

What inspired you to work in agriculture?
Having a few generations of farming in the family, and having grown up on our family farm at Merredin, agriculture has always been part of my life. Even though I worked in industrial parts for a couple of decades, the pull to farming eventually won and I made a career change.   

How long have you been with CSBP and what’s the most rewarding part of your role?
I’ve been with CSBP for almost five years and have been looking after the Beverley, Brookton and northern part of Pingelly shire since I began. The most rewarding part of the role is being outdoors (mostly) and helping growers improve their yields while optimising their gross margins.  

What have you enjoyed learning in your role? 
I’ve enjoyed learning about soil nutrition and the major effect it has on yields and the grower’s bottom line.

I have so much respect for farmers in their ability to manage so many facets of their business on a day-to-day basis. They need to be across agronomy, soil nutrition, soil constraints, finance, grain markets, family, workers and more.

What are some highlights of your career to date? 
In my previous job, one highlight was travelling to China for business and seeing how a different culture goes about their daily life and conducts business. It really puts Australia’s economy into perspective. With CSBP the highlight would be the growers I have met through work and who I now consider good friends.

How are you involved in your local community?
I enjoy competing in the tennis comps (yet to win a title) and camping with my family at motorbike events. With CSBP’s involvement in the community we’ve been able to support a number of local events including tennis competitions, Pony Express motorbike events, cricket and football clubs and mothers’ groups. 

What do you do when you’re not at work?
I have a ten and seven-year-old, so life revolves around their many sporting pursuits. When not being a chauffeur/coach for the kids, as a family we like to get away camping with friends, usually inland in the cooler months and on the coast in summer. When at home I enjoy having a bevvie or two with our neighbours at our verge bar which we built in the early days of COVID.

What’s your favourite time of the growing season? 
With the amazing landscape within my area (big granite covered hills and rivers) spring would have to be my favourite time out bush. It’s a great time to get out and camp with growers and their families plus it’s the time of year when all your efforts for the season are coming to fruition

 
Drew Maughan
By Drew Maughan
- Account Manager
Drew grew up on a mixed farming operation, just north of Merredin, before moving on to spend 30 years in the industrial parts game, after a stint at Muresk. 

As an account manager, Drew enjoys working alongside farmers and adding value to their operations. 

Agronomic insights

Want to stay up to date? Have our latest research findings and news delivered to your inbox